Message from the Chairman for 2020

It has been 30 years since the founding of Makalot. We are endeavoring to make Makalot an international enterprise with sustainable and responsible operations. We pursue growth and profit, but we also simultaneously pay equal attention to fulfilling our corporate social responsibility according to international standards.

Corporate Governance: High Operating Performance and Transparency

Since becoming a listed company, Makalot's operating performance has garnered constant acclaim. In order to strike and maintain a balance between the interests of shareholders, employees, and all other stakeholders, Makalot assigned external experts to conduct a board performance evaluation in 2019. We have also appointed a corporate governance officer and continue to improve information transparency through a variety of measures

Sustainable Development: Ecosystem Protection, Energy Conservation, and Carbon Reduction

Since 2016, Makalot has been collaborating with Tse-Xin Organic Agriculture Foundation to promote a 5-year tree planting project. It is hoped that the project can contribute to the restoration of ecosystems, the protection of coastal areas, and the reduction of carbon emissions. As of 2019, we have planted over 5,500 trees in the coastal areas of Taixi Township in Yunlin County, Guanyin District in Taoyuan City, and Jinshan District in New Taipei City. We also expect to reach the goal of planting 7,500 trees by the end of 2020. In addition, Makalot has long been collaborating with the Society of Wilderness to engage in various environmental protection volunteer activities, and is committed to wetland conservation and the promotion of natural farming techniques at the 52-jia Wetland in Yilan. Makalot has also invited our long-term suppliers to join us in exerting the collective power of an industrial chain to contribute to Taiwan's environmental protection.

In addition, Makalot complies with the Higg Index, a set of environmental assessment standards formulated by the Sustainable Apparel Coalition. In 2019, all Makalot factories have completed self-inspection in the environmental protection assessment categories.

A Happy Enterprise: Care for Employees, Balance of Body and Mind

Amidst rapid changes in international circumstances and the fierce competition worldwide, Makalot employees are experiencing high stress from external competitors. For this reason, Makalot endeavors to create a healthy, positive, happy, and friendly work environment. In 2019, Makalot promoted a wide array of innovative measures in the hopes of improving employee efficiency and reducing work hours, thereby allowing employees to live in balance between work and life.

For the company's five overseas production bases, we have also enhanced our operations related to safety maintenance. We have invested resources into improving fire control systems and alarm equipment, optimizing safety mechanisms, reducing related risks by regular examinations and trainings, and improving the safety of work environment, so that employees can concentrate on work with peace of mind.

Social Welfare: Makalot Mobilizes to Share Love

We continue to promote the "i Happy i Value" value-added activities, which encourage all Makalot employees and their families to participate in various charity activities, thereby turning our philosophy and culture of social care into a tangible reality. Beyond the head office in Taiwan, Makalot is dedicated to charity activities in the overseas production bases as well. We provide care for local residents in the neighborhoods of the factories, and help local governments, schools, and disadvantaged welfare organizations by investing resources to better local people's lives.

In 2020, the world is confronting the crisis of the COVID-19 pandemic. Makalot is actively cooperating with the government's pandemic control requirements by fully committing to the production of personal protective equipment, hoping in doing so to contribute our utmost efforts to the control of the pandemic in Taiwan. Looking to the future, Makalot will constantly sustain its commitment and shoulder more responsibility in its dedication to corporate and social sustainability, so as to create a better future.

董事長的話

聚陽成立已30個年頭,我們期勉聚陽成為永續經營、更負責任的國際企業,在追求成長與獲利的同時,也以國際的標準來思考如何回饋社會,善盡企業責任。

公司治理:高營運績效、高透明度

聚陽自上市以來,企業的營運績效一直獲得各界的肯定。而為了持續達成股東、員工與所有利益關係人之間的平衡, 2019年委請外部專家進行董事會績效評估,並設置公司治理主管,持續提升資訊透明度。

永續發展:維護生態、節能減碳

聚陽從2016年開始與慈心基金會合作,推展五年的植樹計劃,冀望該計畫可以協助復育生態、保護海岸及減少碳排放。目標於2020完成種植7500棵樹,而至2019年止,已於台西海岸、桃園觀音及新北金山種植超過5,500棵樹。此外,聚陽並長期與荒野保護協會合作,致力於濕地保育及推廣自然農法(宜蘭52甲濕地),聚陽並邀請長期合作的供應商夥伴也共同參與,發揮產業鏈的群體力量,為台灣環境保育貢獻心力。

此外,聚陽也遵循「永續成衣聯盟(Sustainable Apparel Coalition, SAC)」環境評估工具標準(Higg index),於2019年完成所有自有工廠的環保項目自檢。

幸福企業:員工關懷、身心平衡

面對國際情勢的快速變化與全球化的劇烈競爭,聚陽同仁都承擔很高的競爭壓力,因此,聚陽努力塑造健康、正向、樂活氛圍之友善工作環境。在2019年,聚陽推動各項創新措施,期能有效提升同仁的工作效率、降低工時,鼓勵員工追求工作與生活間的平衡。

而針對海外的五大生產基地,也積極強化各項安全作業,我們投入資源改善,加強消防預防及預警設備,優化安全機制,定期檢查和教育訓練以降低風險,提升工作環境安全,讓同仁安心工作。

社會公益:聚陽分享愛, 全員動起來

持續推動“i Happy i Value”公益加值活動,鼓勵聚陽全體員工與家屬一起參與各項公益活動,具體落實關懷社會的理念文化。除了總部,聚陽也在海外生產基地積極投入公益。我們關懷工廠週遭社區居民,協助政府、學校及弱勢單位,投入資源,改善當地人民生活。

在2020年,全球正面臨著新冠肺炎的疫情威脅,聚陽也積極配合政府的防疫需求,全力投入防護衣的生產,希望盡自己的最大心力協助台灣做好防疫工作。未來,我們誓言將肩負起更多責任,致力於企業與社會的永續發展,讓我們的未來更加美好。